Battle Of The Hair Oils

In the last few years I have put my hair through some serious trauma and I’m not just talking about a few highlights here and there. I’m talking dark brown to platinum blonde in a matter of days (eek!) and then back again, no fringe to full fringe to side fringe to no fringe again, not to mention the regular use of blow dryers, straighteners, curling tongs and rollers. So, as you can imagine, after finally coming to my senses and leaving it the hell alone it is a daily battle against the frizzy mess I have left myself with but I have found a few products that have really helped.

hairoil

In terms of deep conditioning treatments, coconut oil is the best product I have found to inject moisture into my hair and make it look shiny and healthy. I leave this one in overnight and wash out in the morning as it’s very greasy so not ideal for leaving in your hair during the day. I focus most of the product at the ends of my hair and then work whatever is left on my hands up into my roots and scalp. You just have to make sure you give it a really good wash the next morning to ensure all the product is out. Coconut oil comes in solid form and melts at body temperature so I scoop out about half a tablespoon’s worth and rub it together in my hands before applying it. I buy this from Holland & Barrett for under £10 and it lasts ages!

I often mix this with a 50p sized amount of canola oil which is said to aid in thickening hair and encouraging growth. I’m not really sure of the science behind this and whether it actually works but anything that claims to help hair grow has me interested!

When it comes to leave-in hair oils my favourites are macadamia oil and argan oil – in that order. I apply these to the ends of my hair as the final step in the styling process and they honestly transform it from something closely resembling hay to glossy, soft and swishy. The macadamia oil, especially, smells divine! There are various brands of these at very different price points but I picked mine up for £2.99 each from Primark and they work a treat. The brand is Hask and they can also be found online on www.haskbeauty.com.

The final oil I use regularly is the Tresemme Liquid Gold Restorative Complex which I have to say I was quite disappointed by and am only using it to finish the bottle. I won’t be repurchasing it. It smells lovely and doesn’t weigh my hair down but I just haven’t noticed it doing anything at all. There’s not a lot more to say about it really, it’s just a bleurgh which, with a name as affluent as Liquid Gold was quite a disappointment!

I must just add that I would never use these products all at once! I alternate them depending on my mood and I always make sure I use them sparingly to avoid the Danny from Grease look!

Thanks for reading,

Abi x

3 thoughts on “Battle Of The Hair Oils

  1. Pingback: My Hair History | Brooks Make-Up

Leave a comment