MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base

20140711-134231-49351387.jpg
In the heat my makeup has the tendency to slide right off my face and I don’t think I’m alone. Who’s with me girls? I don’t have particularly oily skin but I go seriously shiny on hot summer days and the longevity of my foundation definitely suffers. This summer I’ve noticed it more than ever so have been researching products to combat it.

Enter…MAC’s Prep & Prime. I’ve heard lots of good things about this product and as an avid MAC fan, when I saw they were giving away free samples of this on their Facebook page I nearly squealed out loud. Unfortunately the offer is no longer running (sorry girls) but I thought I’d give you my thoughts in case you were interested in purchasing the product yourself.

In a nutshell, I like it. This sample may look tiny but I’ve got at least a week’s worth of uses out if it so feel I can give you a good reflection of it’s performance.

It works well with my skin and definitely makes my makeup last longer. I can’t say it completely eradicates the shine but it does help reduce it and I have better confidence in my makeup’s performance when I’m wearing it.

The best part for me about this product however, is how it makes my makeup look when applied. It applies nicely (it comes in a white cream formula) and sinks well into the skin so you don’t have to wait around for a long time before applying your foundation/concealer and it creates a lovely smooth surface, filling in any lines to ensure your makeup looks even and flawless.

For me, this product is a winner and definitely one I will be purchasing full size. It costs £21 for 30ml so not too bad and given how long this tiny sample has lasted I think the full size product would give me loads of uses. It can be purchased from here or MAC stores and counters.

What is your favourite skin primer?

Thanks for reading!
Abi x

15 thoughts on “MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base

  1. I have gone through so many of these in the full size but hadn’t bought one in ages because the price has gone up again! – it was about £18 when I first started getting it – and I wasn’t sure it was worth it since I changed foundations. However I got a sample from their facebook offer too and now I am very temped by a full size again! My favourite! x

  2. seen so many people rave about this product I might have to cave in and buy it myself! I personally have been loving using benefits professional, its a really silk velvety primer xx

  3. Just so you know I nominated you for the “very inspirational blogger” award!!!
    I love the MAC prep and prime. Your makeup just stays all day! Great review. Feel free to check out my blog! xoxox

  4. I have super oily skin so like you Mac’s Primer made my skin look flawless but didn’t combat my main problem!

    HOWEVER, I’ve just discovered Milk of Magnesias wonderful effects as a primer. Check my latest post out 🙂

  5. I’ve been looking for a primer that doesn’t break me out since it happened when I used Smashbox Photo Finish Primer. Have you had any adverse reactions to MACs Prep & Prime?

  6. I love the mac prep and prime also and i have very oily skin but it gives a good coverage but also leave my skin with the right amount of dewyness if that is a word lol.

  7. I’m always looking for new primers to try. I love Smashbox Photo Finish, but I found the Sephora brand primer works just as well. I’ve recently been using Primed & Ready by Prestige Cosmetics and I like it a lot. I’ve used it under the MAC Pro Longwear foundation and the 2 products worked good together. I’m going to see about getting a little sample of this at my local MAC store.

Leave a Reply

