Bargain Base

20140714-211742-76662132.jpg
Whenever I’m asked what my favourite drugstore brand is I always say Revlon, it just seems to be the default answer I give because I used to be a committed Colourstay foundation user and I’m in love with their matte lipsticks and their nail polishes. However, recently I’ve realised that this is no longer the case. Move over Revlon, Rimmel is definitely now my firm drugstore favourite! I think as a brand they are really consistent in quality and the price point is something that can’t be sniffed at!

Two of my favourites are the Wake Me Up concealer and foundation. I am very much a fan of the dewy skin look. I do always apply a little bit of powder over the top for staying power but really hate the completely matte look and this foundation successfully gives that glowy but not oily look that I so long for in my base. The formula is quite thick which gives it a medium coverage but it is versatile enough to be sheered out or built up to achieve the desired coverage. In terms of staying power, I’d say this lasts about 7-8 hours without needing a touch up which I think is a pretty respectable time frame for a dewy foundation. All in all, it’s a good all rounder for an inexpensive price (£8.99 from Boots and they often do 3 for 2s which is a bonus!)

As for the concealer, I can’t fault that either. I know everyone bangs on about the Collection Lasting Finish concealer but having given it 2 tubes worth of a try, I think it’s really drying and the coverage isn’t as good as I’d expected after reading all the rave reviews! The Wake Me Up concealer is everything I wanted the Lasting Finish to be, the coverage is very full without being cakey and it’s moisturising but not oily. It’s only slightly more expensive than the Collection one too at £5.49, available here.

What’s your favourite drugstore foundation/concealer combo?

Thanks for reading!
Abi x

27 thoughts on “Bargain Base

  1. I love the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum and the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer. I recently bought the Wake Me Up Foundation by Rimmel and I can’t wait to try it now!

      • I’ve heard that the normal Healthy Mix has a very natural finish on the skin. But you can’t go wrong with the serum one either, I’d definitely recommend it!

  2. I love the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation and I do use the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer. Though I have wanted to try the Wake Me Up Range for ages. So I think they’ll be my next foundation/concealer purchases!

  3. Unfortunately, as I am so fair, I am still unable to find a foundation that fits me properly from the high street. However, I did enjoy using the Maybelline BB cream. I also love the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer, and have heard great things about the Collection concealer as well.

  4. I normally wear True Match Foundation and I like to wear either my Hardy Candy Glamoflauge Concealer (awesome stuff!) or my Elf HD Concealer in brightening. Though lately I have been using Elf’s Acne Fighting Foundation and I love it! 🙂

  5. I absolutely adore the Wake Me Up concealer! I just wish the colour range was a bit larger (I need one shade lighter!). On the plus side having a concealer that’s a little bit dark is perfect for covering any dark circles prior to highlighting!

    Great post (:

  6. Thanks for the heads up on these! I tried Rimmel’s mascaras awhile back and I remember loving them! For my brides it’s nothing but KETT Cosmetics Hydro airbrush-applied foundation but even I like to get away with some good less expensive options sometimes!

    Do you have a favorite nude lipstick? I love the nude, slightly matte lip look but if it’s too light, it doesn’t look right on me. My current favorite is actually a Revlon color but I’ve pinned NYX “Thalia” to my Hair+Makeup board…I’ll have to give it a try soon!

    • My favourite nude is Revlon Super Lustrous matte lipstick in Mauve It Over. It’s completely matte but not too drying and it’s a bit of a darker nude so doesn’t give that corpse look!! It’s reminds me a bit of what Kylie Jenner would wear on her lips! Gorgeous! Thanks for reading! X

  7. Hey! I have nominated you for a Liebster Award! If you don’t know what that is, it’s an award that encourages bloggers to continue writing. Check out my ‘Liebster Award’ post on my blog where I have the questions and the rules. Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

